On this page:

If you have a psychosocial disability, you may need regular or ongoing mental health treatment services.

The mental health system is generally responsible for clinical services such as diagnosis and treatments. The mental health system includes:

  • government mental health departments, agencies, and services
  • patient care in public and private hospitals, inpatient mental health facilities, and other residential care
  • specialist doctors, psychiatrists, psychologists and health care professionals
  • community mental health care services.

We’re generally responsible for supports that are not clinical in nature, and focus on:

  • improving or maintaining your functional ability, and your recovery
  • helping you increase your independence
  • your social and economic participation.

Learn more about mental health and the NDIS .

This page current as of
27 February 2023
Indicates required field
Was this page useful?
Why not?