If you’re eligible, how do we decide what SDA to fund?

If you’re eligible for SDA, the next step is to decide what kind of SDA we will fund for you. We’ll determine the following things for you in your plan:

  • a design category
  • a building type
  • an appropriate location.

Check out the SDA Rules  for extra information.

What’s an SDA design category?

We look at your support needs to recommend the right design category.

There are five SDA design categories:

  1. Basic – housing that doesn’t have special design features. Basic dwellings are normally older housing built before the NDIS started. Funding for this is only included in your plan if you’ve lived here before, and choose to continue living here.
  2. Improved Liveability – housing that includes better physical access. It also has more features for people with sensory, intellectual or cognitive impairments.
  3. Fully Accessible – housing that includes a high level of physical access features for people with lots of physical challenges.
  4. Robust Construction - housing that includes a high level of physical access. It must be very strong and durable, reducing the chance of repairs and upkeep. The way it is built should make it safe for you and others. Robust dwellings may suit people who need help managing behaviours of concern.
  5. High Physical Support - housing that includes a high level of physical access for people with significant physical impairment. This SDA is designed to help people who need very high levels of support.

Working out the right SDA design category for you

We look at your individual needs when determining your SDA design category. 

You may need other supports, so we’ll also look at how the features of each design category would help facilitate them. 

A design category isn’t appropriate for you if it makes it harder to get other supports. Or, if it would be risky for your health and safety. 

When we determine your design category, we'll look at reports from your doctor or other health professionals. We also look at your goals and aspirations. 

We'll consider things like whether you need additional space around your bed, bathroom or kitchen to be able to use them. Or if your care needs require particular features. 

Usually, we select the design category that helps you receive your other supports and has the features you need to live there. We'll also think about the support model that best suits your needs. 

What SDA building types are there?

There are five building types:

  • Apartments – self-contained units that are part of a larger residential building.
  • Duplexes, Villas, Townhouses – separate but semi-attached properties within a single land title or strata titled area. This also includes standalone villas or 'granny flats'.
  • Houses – detached low rise dwellings with garden or courtyard areas.
  • Group Homes – houses that hold up to five long-term residents.
  • Larger Dwellings – houses that house more than five long-term residents. This is also called “Legacy”. Larger dwellings are only for participants who already lived in this type of house, before their first plan.

Determining the right SDA building type for you

Your individual needs help us work out the SDA building type that’s best for you. 

We think about the features of each building type, and which would meet your needs best. We also look at how the building type would: 

  • help in providing your other supports
  • better allow you to pursue your goals 
  • be more likely (than another building type) to improve outcomes for you. 

Key things we also think about are:

  • what kind of building you’d like to live in 
  • if it works with the support model you need
  • whether the building type is value for money

Generally, the lowest cost building type that meets your individual needs will be what we fund.

How do we work out the right SDA location?

We’ll include an SDA location in your plan. An example of an area is Queensland – Brisbane – East. Or, Tasmania – Launceston and North East.

We decide the location by understanding:

  • where you live now and where you’ve lived before 
  • where you’d like to live
  • how the location would help you pursue your goals
  • how you could access community and mainstream services
  • how the location would help you connect with community or culture 
  • how the location will help you stay in touch with informal supports like family and friends.

If you have more than one place you would be happy to live in, we can include more than one location. 

What’s the best support model for me?

When we determine your SDA type and location, we'll also look at what kind of support model you need. 

A support model is how your person-to-person supports are delivered. It includes where those supports are provided. It also includes how your SDA and person-to-person supports work with other supports, such as assistive technology. 

SDA is designed to work with a number of different support models.

Examples include:

  • support provided in your SDA
  • on-site support, which is available quickly to a number of SDA dwellings inside the one building
  • 'mobile' support, which is available quickly to a number of SDA dwellings within a short distance from one another. 

For example, you might need immediately available person-to-person support. But if you can be alone safely sometimes, the best support model for you may be on-site support or mobile support. 

If you're eligible for SDA, we can also consider personal care supports  or Supported Independent Living (SIL) in your plan.  
We look at reports from your doctor or other health professionals when considering what kind of support model you need. 

We know that your support model may change over time. For SDA we consider how often you need access to your other supports and how quickly you need to access them.

The other parts of your support model will be included in your plan individually. They're not linked to the SDA supports in your plan.

This page current as of
8 December 2020
Indicates required field
Was this page useful?
Why not?